On Faspex you can configure packages, URLs, and user accounts to expire or be removed from use after a time period of your choice.
You can configure packages that users upload to the server to expire. This means that packages will be permanently deleted from the server after your chosen time has elapsed. For example, you may not want packages to be stored on your server indefinitely, so you can set packages to be deleted from storage 7 days after they are uploaded. This expiration is configured under Server > Configuration > Package Storage.
Additionally, on the same page you can set packages to be deleted after they have been downloaded. You can do this for packages after any recipient has downloaded the package, or after all the recipients have downloaded the package.
There is currently no way to display a package's expiration date in email notifications to Faspex users. For an alternative way of doing this, see this Knowledge Base article.
Faspex allows you to invite outside users (users without a Faspex account) to send or to download packages, as well as to submit files to a Faspex dropbox. These exchanges make use of a URL to an interface that outside users can navigate to in order to download or send Faspex packages. You can configure these URLs to be accessible indefinitely, or you can set a date at which they expire and no longer work. Specifically, you can configure the different URL expirations at the following:
- URL for inviting outside user to download a Faspex package: Configure under Server > Configuration > Security
- The package link can be configured to expire after a certain number of days
- The package link can also be configured to expire after a full download, meaning the package is only downloadable once
- URL for inviting outsider user to send you a package: On the invitation form, from Received > Invitations > New
- URL for inviting outsider user to submit to dropbox: On the invitation form, from Workgroups > Dropbox_name > Invite Outside Submitter
Link expirations do not affect packages transferred through the URL interface, so even if a link expires the packages involved remain on the server (unless there is package expiration configured like in the previous section).
For Faspex email notifications there is a variable that allows you to include the expiration date of a URL to outside users: LINK_EXPIRATION_INFO
User account expiration
You can set particular user accounts to expire at a certain date, meaning they will be deactivated and no longer able to log in. This may be useful if you only want certain people to have access to your Faspex for a limited time, such as for the duration of a project.
You configure this by going to the Accounts tab and clicking the name of the user you want to set an expiration for. Choose the expiration date in the Account Details section.
When a user account expires, they are not removed from the server entirely. You will see the user grayed out in the list of the Accounts tab. From here you can manually reactivate the user or delete the user permanently.
You can also force users to change their password after a certain time by setting a password expiration. You configure this by going to the Accounts tab and clicking the name of the user you want to set an expiration for. Choose the date on which the user's password will no longer work in the Account Details section.